Pamela Mooring
4 Board Members Confirmed For DC Water Board of Directors
D.C. Council approves nominees at final meeting of the year
Dec 22, 2016 -- Four District residents were confirmed this week for appointments to the District of Columbia Water and Sewer Authority, the Board that governs DC Water’s activities and strategic direction. All four Board members were unanimously confirmed by the Council of the District of Columbia.

George Hawkins, DC Water’s general manager praised the new members joining the 11-member board and expressed confidence that current board member Ellen Boardman, who was reappointed, would continue to provide valuable leadership.

"DC Water is a cutting-edge enterprise and these new District residents will help us continue moving in a direction where we are innovating, protecting the environment and providing great service to our customers," Hawkins said.

DC Water Board Chairman Matthew T. Brown, said, "I welcome our talented new class of Board members. They bring diverse knowledge and experience to the oversight of this enterprise and I look forward to working with them."

The new board members include:

•     Ellen Boardman, principal member. Boardman joined the DC Water Board of Directors in 2013. She currently chairs the Governance Committee and serves on the DC Retail Water and Sewer Rates, Human Resources and Labor Relations, and Audit committees. She is a partner of ODonoghue & ODonoghue LLP. Previously, Boardman was employed by the National Labor Relations Boards Office of Enforcement Litigation where she specialized in federal appellate court litigation, appearing before numerous federal courts of appeals concerning issues of federal labor law. Her term ends in September 2020.

•     Tommy Wells, alternate member. Wells serves as the Director of the Department of Energy and Environment and has more than 30 years of experience in policy development and advocacy to advance innovations in urban planning, transit, education, environmental protection, social services and public safety. He also served as Councilmember of Ward 6 for seven years. Wells’ term ends September 2020.

•     Emile Thompson, principal member. Thompson is an Assistant United States Attorney in the United States Attorney’s Office for the District of Columbia. He represents the United States and the District of Columbia in criminal matters in Superior Court. Prior, he was Chief of Staff for the Deputy Mayor of Public Safety and Justice in Washington, DC. His term on DC Water’s Board ends in September 2020.

•     Anthony Giancola, alternate member. Giancola is a professional engineer with more than 20 years of experience in transportation and government consulting, licensed in Maryland, the District of Columbia and Pennsylvania. Giancola served a twenty year active duty career in the Civil Engineer Corp, U.S. Navy, achieving the rank of Commander. His term ends September 2019. He recently served as the Public Works Director, Takoma Park, Maryland and Chief Engineer, Public Works, in Frederick, Maryland.

News & Publications